Headline News

image from snb26pr.wordpress.com

“If we forget that the newspapers are footnotes to Scripture and not the other way around, we will finally be afraid to get out of bed in the morning. Too many of us spend far too much time with the editorial page and not nearly enough with the prophetic vision. We get our interpretation of politics and economics and morals from journalists when we should be getting only information; the meaning of the world is most accurately given to us by God’s Word.”

– Eugene H. Peterson, from Run With The Horses, p. 54.

2 thoughts on “Headline News

  1. Barbara

    Someone once said something to the effect of, “The apostles didn’t go around saying, ‘Look at what the world has come to’, but rather, ‘Look at what has come to the world!'”

    On a side note, maybe you can explain this to me – I have been utterly perplexed by very sound men quoting Eugene Peterson after the way he treated the Scriptures in The Message and for the life of me I cannot grasp why. Since you have joined their ranks, can you explain to me what I’ve missed?

  2. Joe Post author

    I once heard Peterson say that he would be surprised if anyone used The Message for serious Bible study (can’t remember the exact quote). Honestly I don’t care for it from what little I’ve read of it. But I would guess that Peterson would call it a paraphrase and not a translation, like the J.B. Phillips paraphrase of the New Testament. I’ve heard Alistair Begg quote from Phillips many times, although I’d probably say that Phillips is much more ‘literal’ than The Message.

    This is the first book I’ve read of Peterson’s. I picked it up at our library because I wanted to read something additional on Jeremiah that wasn’t a straight commentary. I’ve always been drawn to Jeremiah, since we seem to get more of his personality and what made him than any of the other prophets. I’ve enjoyed Peterson’s take on Jeremiah and it’s helped me to see how faithful he was and what a full life he lived, although his ministry was filled with failure. I haven’t found anything unsound in what Peterson has written so far – I hope that doesn’t mean I’ve become less discerning 🙂

Leave a Reply

