Judges 10:15

“I don’t mind whether you’ve been baptized, confirmed, christened, publicly professed, walked the aisle, learned the funny handshake, signed on the dotted line, filled out the response card, sat up, knelt down, been knocked over, danced, or done any number of religious activities.

“What I want to know is if you are in the place of verse 15 ? Because there can be no joy without great sense of sin. There can be no realization of the wonders of Christ and who He is without a profound realization of what He has done for you.”

– Dr. Josh Moody, Senior Pastor, College Church, Wheaton, IL

2 thoughts on “Judges 10:15

  1. Marianne Lordi

    What a great message. You cannot claim victory in Christ UNTIL you come to a realization of your sin against a holy God! It is only then that you realize your weakness and call upon the strength of Christ. Those who believe that it is just in saying a prayer that you are saved have no knowledge of the evil of their sin. Praise God that he opened my eyes to the depravity of my life and gave me mercy.

  2. Larry Silverstein

    D.L. MOODY & HOW TO START A REVIVAL

    In the Life of Dwight L. Moody, the Official Authorised Edition, by his son, W. R. Moody, we read in the Preface:

    “The preparation of my father’s Biography has been undertaken as a sacred trust. Early in the spring of 1894 he was asked by an old friend for permission to issue a Biography with his approval. This my father declined to do, and, on that occasion, expressed the wish that I should assume the task when his life-work was ended. In reply to my objection that such an undertaking demanded a literary experience that I did not possess, he said, “I don’t care anything about that. What I want is that you should correct inaccuracies and misstatements that it would be difficult to straighten out during my life. You are the one to do this. All my friends will unite with you and give their assistance. There are many who think they know me better than anyone else and would feel themselves best able to interpret my life. If you do not do this work, there will be many inaccurate and conflicting “Lives”.

    Whatever diffidence I have felt in executing this trust, it has been undertaken as a filial duty and esteemed to be a great privilege. It would have been my choice to have had more leisure for accomplishing the work; but the announcement of unauthorized Biographies has necessitated the immediate publication of the present volume. Other wise the desire of my father would have been thwarted.

    I would gratefully acknowledge the kindness of many friends who have contributed important data and incidents. Special acknowledgment is also due to Rev. John Bancroft Devins, of The New York Observer, whose valuable assistance has greatly facilated the early completion of the work.

    Father lived solely for the glory of God and for the spread of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. It is the earnest prayer of his family that in this record of his career his life’s porpose may be conserved.

    Will. R. Moody

    LONDON: MORGAN AND SCOTT
    (Office of “The Christian)
    12, PATERNOSTER BUILDINGS, E.C.

Leave a Reply

