Let It Not Be So

“There are some of you who have not turned over your Bibles for a long, long, long while, and what think you? I tell you blunt words, but true words. What will God say at last? When you shall come before him, he shall say, ‘Did you read my Bible?’

‘No.’

‘I wrote you a letter of mercy; did you read it?’

‘No.’

‘Rebel! I have sent thee a letter inviting thee to me: didst thou ever read it?’

‘Lord I never broke the seal; I kept it shut up.’

‘Wretch!’ says God, ‘then thou deservest hell, if I sent thee a loving epistle and thou wouldst not even break the seal: what shall I do unto thee?’

‘Oh! let it not be so with you. Be Bible readers; be Bible searchers!'”

– Charles H. Spurgeon

4 thoughts on “Let It Not Be So

  1. Chrystal

    Do you have any habits that help with your Bible reading, friend? For instance, do you read portions all at once or go back and forth throughout the day? Do you try to read concurrently with a devotional book or a concordance?

  2. Joe Post author

    Chrystal – I think sticking with one book of the Bible at a time and then moving on to the next one seems to work best for me. This year I started by alternating an OT book with a NT, but now am planning on reading the prophets straight through (just started Isaiah) before going back to the NT. I try to read at a set time of day, but sometimes have to adjust it. At the least I’ll try to read one of the Psalms or Proverbs early in the morning or at lunch until I can set aside more time.

    I have several devotional books and usually will read from one of those before going to sleep at night. “For The Love of God” by D.A. Carson, “My Utmost for His Highest” by Oswald Chambers, and Spurgeon’s “Morning & Evening” are my favorites. I have a couple from John MacArthur as well. I might also read Matthew Henry’s Concise Commentary for whatever Bible passages I read that day, or notes from a study Bible if I had a hard time understanding something (which happens often 🙂 ).

    John MacArthur actually has one of the most helpful suggestions I’ve found for Bible reading. He suggests reading an NT book straight through repeatedly for 30 straight days. Longer books like Acts or the Gospels you’d have to split up a bit, but short letters work well. Doing that with 1 John a while back and Ephesians last month really helped me to understand both books in a new way. I may do it again this month, but not sure with what book yet.

    I’m not sure if you were looking for a novel-length answer, but there you go 🙂 I’d be interested to hear what works well for you too…it really helps to hear how others go about it and encourages me to press on as well.

    Blessings to you sister !

  3. Chrystal

    I enjoyed your novel =) I’ve been asking the Lord to lead me into new inspiration in reading His word. Yesterday, I took your approach to the book of Matthew, determined to read all the way through. Instead, I ended up getting side-tracked on a tangent on “sons of God” as portrayed in Matthew 5, Romans 8 and 1 John 3. It was glorious! Isn’t God good? =)

Leave a Reply

