With Melting Heart and Weeping Eyes

“With melting heart and weeping eyes,
My guilty soul for mercy cries;
What shall I do, or whither flee,
To rid the vengeance due of me?

Till late I saw no danger nigh,
I lived at ease nor feared to die;
Wrapped up in self-conceit and pride,
‘I shall have peace at last,’ I cried.

But when great God thy light divine,
Had shone on this dark soul of mine,
Then I beheld with trembling awe,
The terrors of Thy holy law.

Should vengeance still my soul pursue,
Death and destruction are my due;
Yet mercy can my guilt forgive,
And bid this dying sinner live.

Does not Thy sacred word proclaim,
Salvation free in Jesus’ name?
To him I look and humbly cry,
‘Lord, save a wretch condemned to die!’

– Taken from the Gadsby Hymnal #238
Words: John Fawcett, 1740-1817.
Music: Clint Wells, 2005.
from the Red Mountain Music CD, “Help My Unbelief”

Leave a Reply

