Book Giveaway

I recently won a book giveaway from the good folks at Devotional Christian and due to the large volume of books they sent me, I have to make some room on my bookshelves to fit them all (plus I already owned two of the books they sent me). So I’ve decided to do a book giveaway of my own here. I’ll keep it open until this Thursday, November 19 at 11:00 pm EST. To enter, just leave a comment below with the title of a Christian book that’s really had an impact on you and why. I’ll be mailing the books via UPS Ground and can only send to the continental U.S.A.

Here are the books included in the giveaway:

1) Jonathan Edwards: Representative Selections– edited by Clarence H. Faust and Thomas H. Johnson
2) The Attributes of God – A.W. Pink
3) Prayer – John Bunyan
4) The Holy Spirit – John Owen
5) Revolution in World Missions – K.P. Yohannan
6) Daily Readings from the Life of Christ, Vol. I – John MacArthur
7) The King Has Come – James Montgomery Boice
8 ) How to Find God in the Bible: A Personal Plan for the Encounter of Your Life – Woodrow Kroll
9) A Faith Worth Sharing – C. John Miller
10) Fifty Reasons Why Jesus Came to Die – John Piper
11) The Night of Weeping and the Morning of Joy – Horatius Bonar
12) Our God Is Awesome – Tony Evans
13) Truth & Power: The Place of Scripture in the Christian Life – J.I. Packer
14) The Heart of the Bible – John MacArthur
15) Taste and See – John Piper
16) In Christ Alone – Sinclair Ferguson

In addition, I’ll throw in some sample issues of Tabletalk magazine, some tracts and sermons from J.C. Ryle and others, and a couple of pocket-sized books from Greg Laurie and John Piper.

I’ll draw the winner at random and will email him or her for their shipping address on Friday, November 20.

7 thoughts on “Book Giveaway

  1. Emily

    Awesome idea Joe! and congrats again on winning all those books! i know you’ll enjoy them.

    My favorites are:
    Spiritual Depression: its causes and cure by Lloyd Jones… it is such a helpful book about working through emotions and physical weakness and how the cross of Christ affects that.
    Till We Have Faces by CS Lewis… in my mind, this is one of the best fiction works I’ve ever read…
    Death by Love by Mark Driscoll… similar to Spiritual Depression in the fact that it ties our hope in Christ to hard situations we face in this life

    oh, i could go on all day… but i’ll stop there, you only asked for one, after all. 🙂

  2. Barbara

    All of Grace.

    Why?

    Because, after growing up in the buckle of the Bible Belt, filled with cultural Christianity and walking away from it, only to fall at God’s feet in utter resignation years later, then suddenly having a hunger for the Truth and prepared to submit to it no matter what it may be, I happened to hear of some guy named Spurgeon and just happened (by Providence, no doubt) to see a copy of it in modern English on the shelf of a local Christian bookstore in a tiny “classics” section surrounded by all the modern charismatic and Word-Faith authors. Inside, it had a little CD containing some of the chapters on audio. I plugged it into my CD player and I drove home hearing a Gospel I had never heard before in my life. I have read that book, quoted that book, given that book away, and bought a number of copies since, and referred back to it many times. It has fed me, comforted me, warned me, solaced me, and shown me – through Scripture and the experiences of the Prince of Preachers, that many of the trials I have faced since then are familiar and to be expected.

    Our God uses the men he has raised up to bring the message and truth of His glorious work and His beautiful Son to the hearts that He has prepared to receive it. Such incredible gifts from such an incredible Father.

  3. humanitas remedium

    Joe,
    great Idea, the book that most impacted me was Desiring God by John Piper for the following three reasons;

    1. I read it about a month and half into my life as a believer and it flipped my idea of God upside down

    2. it allowed me to meet C.S. Lewis and Jonathan Edwards.

    3. it got me thinking about Missions.

    -Russ

  4. Linda

    I am reading Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper right now. Would love to win all these books to read and to give to others. Praise His Name… what a list of great books.

  5. Jackie Wharam

    I really like Samuel Boltons True Bounds of Christian Freedom. Bolton does an excellent job of showing how Law and Gospel go hand in hand they do not work against one another but they compliment one another.

    Thanks
    Jackie

Comments are closed.