The Great Privilege

“You are my friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.” – John 15:14-15 (ESV)

This month I’ve been camped out in the Gospel of John and just finished it tonight. I’ve been thinking for the last few days about the above verses from John 15 and how little I’ve truly grasped the implications of what they really mean. Jesus here is explaining something wonderful to His disciples. We can now call on Him as a Friend, as well as Lord and Savior. There is no problem too small or too large for Him to handle, nothing that’s too private to share with Him. We can lean on Him in good times and bad. And whatever front we put up for others – in church, in the office, within our families – is wide open before Him. This in reality should be a great joy to us. He has granted us all a great privilege !

In many cases, though, what happens when the bad times hit or good times come that are worth celebrating ? Is it possible that we feel that friends and family understand us better – in person or online – and so we head straight to them first to share our news ? And Jesus instead is left to the side and becomes an alternate contact – you know, in case no one else is around ?

This has been written to myself primarily, as I feel that in these cases, Jesus sometimes gets whatever energy I have left over in my day, rather than my best. There are times that I can’t wait to tell others of my great news (or even the bad) rather than going to Him first – my Rock and my Redeemer. How strange that is….

Don’t get me wrong – I love sharing my news with friends and family. I also enjoy the interactions I have with others online and have been blessed by the wisdom of so many “friends” out in cyberspace (blogs, Twitter, etc.). Iron sharpens iron, as someone once said 🙂 This is just more of a confession that Jesus so often does not get my best as the true Friend that He is.

These verses from John have hammered that home.

Leave a Reply

