Reconciling…

“Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh. Is anything too hard for me?” – Jeremiah 32:27 (ESV)

Have you heard of a site called Puritan Picks ? It’s probably best described as a Christian Netflix. I recently rented a video from there titled Discipleship Explored, which centers around Paul’s letter to the Philippians. It’s an excellent DVD, well worth checking out if you have time (see preview below). In between watching the video and reading and rereading Philippians, I’ve been trying to reconcile the following two verses, which are very familiar to all of us:

“And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.” – Phil 1:6

“Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.” – Phil 2:12

I know that Philippians 2:13 reads that “for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure” – but there is a tendency in my case to feel that God needs “help” at times from me. Anyone who has visited here in the past knows that I tend to get despondent over sin at a level that is probably unhealthy. But at times I reconcile that by saying that I’m just “working out my salvation with fear and trembling” and that being despondent over sin is part of that. On the other hand, how does that match with knowing God will eventually bring this good work He has began to completion, and that nothing is too hard for Him ?

When you read Philippians, how do you view these verses in light of each other ? What are your thoughts on this ?



2 thoughts on “Reconciling…

  1. Sara

    Interesting how you connected these two verses. I will be thinking about your question.

    Thank you for your comment on “A Spacious Place.”

Leave a Reply

