The Life I Now Live

“I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” – Galatians 2:20 (ESV)

Heavenly Father, thank you. Today is two years that I’ve been born again. Thank you for your saving grace. I know there is nothing of my own that makes this possible. That’s hard for me to remember at times, because I feel I disappoint you in so many ways and try to make up for it by “doing good”. I try many days to make myself more “acceptable” to You, and don’t always remember the cry of Your Son, who said “It is finished”. My sin of pride gets in the way of that Father, and I’m sorry. You have given me so much and I get discouraged that I don’t walk in the manner that you’ve called me to. There are days that I’m so disgusted with my sin that I just want to stop. But I’m comforted by the words of Paul, who said to the church in Philippi – “And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.” These forgetful times make me realize how much I need Your Word, and how I’m completely lost in this life without it. Please continue to keep that hunger for Your Word in me at all times, Father.

Father, you have given me so, so much. A wonderful, patient and loving wife who I feel most days I don’t deserve. Do I love her each day as Christ loved the church and gave Himself up for her ? Sadly, no. Help me to do this Father. I’m frustrated by how poorly I treat her at times Father. I need your help every day to be the kind of husband you called me to be.

There is so much more to thank you for today, and my small mind will of course forget most of it. But thank you for my family and friends and for brothers and sisters (in-person and online !) who have strengthened me in my knowledge of You and have encouraged and helped me. It’s a great blessing to know them and thank you for placing them in my life. I feel so weighted down by my sins at times Father. And there are days when I wrongly feel alone and need to remember with David that no matter where I am, “even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.” Please take me by your right hand and turn me towards the Cross. I confess I lose sight of it at times.

Thank you again for Your saving grace Father. Thank you for the Holy Spirit. And thank you for Your Son, “who loved me and gave himself for me.” Please help me to live a life that honors You and is pleasing to You. Help me today Father. What an unspeakable joy it is to know You !

I love you and pray these things in Jesus’ Name.

Amen.

4 thoughts on “The Life I Now Live

  1. micey

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I’m glad to know you brother! Be encouraged today! God bless you and keep you!

Leave a Reply

