The Value of Journaling

One of the main reasons I started a blog a couple of years back is that I figured it would be a good way to keep a journal on my Bible reading and other Christian material that I go through. I stopped for a while to keep a written journal, but then found it was just easier to keep everything on the blog. By having it online, I can access it wherever I am and don’t have to worry if I’ve forgotten my notebook or journal. Now though I think there is probably good value in keeping both and have thought about restarting a handwritten journal again recently.

I’m currently reading a terrific book by Donald S. Whitney called Spiritual Disciplines for the Christian Life. I’ve just read through his chapter on journaling, and Dr. Whitney gives some great encouragement to anyone who has been keeping a journal, and also to those wondering whether or not to start one.

Here’s Dr. Whitney:

“Many people think God has not blessed them with much until they have to move it all to a new address ! In the same way, we tend to forget just how many times God has answered specific prayers, made timely provision, and done marvelous things in our lives. But having a place to collect all these memories prevents their being forgotten.” (p. 201)

Leave a Reply

