Not Just Idle Words

“They are not just idle words for you—they are your life. By them you will live long in the land you are crossing the Jordan to possess.” – Deuteronomy 32:47 (NIV)

Here in Deuteronomy 32, Moses is delivering his famous “Song of Moses” to the Israelites as he prepares to pass the baton to Joshua and the Israelites get ready to enter the promised land. Moses proclaims God’s goodness and then reminds the Israelites what will happen if they continue to fall into disobedience. Moses spends the entire book of Deuteronomy reminding his fellow countrymen of this over and over. And in this last sentence of his song, he emphasizes that these are “not just idle words”

This may sound strange, but these words of Moses highlighted for me why I do not write in my Bible. I’m sure that puts me in the .001% of people who don’t, but it’s something I feel strongly about. Don’t get me wrong, I have notebooks and journals (and this attempt at a blog), but I think for me at least, there can be a tendency to become too familiar with a passage and what its meaning is. I don’t want to read my comments year after year. The Bible is “not just idle words”…I want to read each section of Scripture as if I’m reading it again for the first time and hear God’s voice and not my own. If I need to, I can always find what I wrote about it somewhere else.

My friend Claire over at One Passion One Devotion reminds her readers to look for “the one thing” when you’re reading your Bible. So I look for it, pray about it, and usually write it down somewhere – just not in my Bible 🙂

Leave a Reply

