No One Knows That Day and Hour

“Therefore you also must be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect.” – Matthew 24:44 (ESV)

No One Knows That Day and Hour

I’ve been reading through Matthew 24 and 25 these last few days and reflecting on Jesus’ words in these two chapters. Over the last year or so especially, I’ve become very mindful of how I’m using my time. Is what I’m doing right now honoring God ? Is this really the best use of my time, to be doing this or watching this game, TV show, movie, etc. ? Would Jesus be pleased if He were standing next to me and listening to the way I speak to my wife, my family, my co-workers ? Am I really ready for that glorious day when He returns ? Many times, I have to sadly admit to myself that the answer is no, that I’ve failed miserably, and that “my lamp has no oil in it” (Matthew 25:3).

Reading through these chapters though has encouraged me to keep up the pursuit, and to continue to be vigilant about what I’m doing. There are an infinite number of things that can occupy our time these days, some of which are good for the soul and some that aren’t. As Paul said in 1 Corinthians 6:12, “‘All things are lawful for me,’ but not all things are helpful.” What a reminder this is in light of Jesus’ parables in Matthew 25.

No one knows that day or hour…
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
“True Christians ought to live like GOOD SERVANTS, whose master is not at home. They should strive to be always ready for their master’s return. They should never give way to the feeling, ‘my Lord is delaying his coming.’ They should seek to keep their hearts in such a frame, that whenever Christ appears, they may at once give Him a warm and loving reception.

There is a vast depth in that saying, ‘Blessed is that servant whom his master finds doing so when he comes.’ We may well doubt whether we are true believers in Jesus, if we are not ready at any time to have our faith changed into sight.” – J.C. Ryle

2 thoughts on “No One Knows That Day and Hour

  1. Philippa

    And isn’t it interesting how we can rationalize what we do as “me time” or “down time” or whatever the excuse.

    As JG said, inspiring words.

    Blessings

Leave a Reply

