Belief and Conduct

My friend Claire over at One Passion One Devotion had a post today that stuck with me about our beliefs and our conduct. Here’s Claire:

i read a fabulous quote today that resonated in my heart and challenges me all the way through…. when we die (or if jesus comes back first) we come before God to give an account of our life… and at that point the criteria has nothing to do with orthodoxy – right doctrine – what we believe in, but rather it is all about orthapraxis – right practice – how we live.

the challenging part of this is especially in context of matthew 25 –

This is something I’ve become more and more aware of in my own life – realizing there is a huge difference between knowing about God and knowing God. Reading through Matthew 3 these last couple of days has also helped to bring this home. John the Baptist talks about this in v. 10 – “Every tree therefore that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire.” In one of his Gospel sermons, Greg Laurie explained, “I always look for fruit – the only way to know if a conversion is real. The proof is in the pudding.”

In my morning prayers and throughout the day, I’ve been asking God, “How can I best serve You today ? How can I serve those around me, at work and at home ?” I’m not saying I haven’t done this in the past, but I’ve just become much more aware of it now, and how much growth I still need in this area. So often I find I do not have a servant’s heart for those around me. And there is always work to be done for the Kingdom of God.

Heavenly Father, please change my selfish heart to a servant’s heart. Let others see the beauty of Your Son through my conduct. In Jesus’ name I pray.

Amen.

“Could it be that my worth should depend
By the crimson stained grace on a hand
And like a lamp on a hill
Lord I pray in Your will
To reveal all of You that I can”

– Jennifer Knapp, “Martyrs and Thieves”

One thought on “Belief and Conduct

  1. fireball3316

    love the prayer in this and amen myself to it too:
    Heavenly Father, please change my selfish heart to a servant’s heart. Let others see the beauty of Your Son through my conduct. In Jesus’ name I pray.

    Amen.

    thanks joe for the shoutout and for the value you added to my thoughts with your own heart.

Leave a Reply

