Wonder and Amazement

The Gospel of John - ESV

“And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.” – John 1:14 (ESV)

One enjoyable aspect of living on the Connecticut shoreline is how many beaches are nearby. Unfortunately with the New England weather, we only seem to get to enjoy them a few months out of the year. Last Monday night though it was 60 degrees here and I decided to take a walk at the beach. I’ve been inspired by my friend Amy Letinsky to work more on memorizing scripture, so I walked along listening to the Gospel of John. I’ve been trying to memorize John 1:1-18 and have listened to it dozens of times now.

But this time as I looked out at the endless horizon in front of me and the distant lights of ships, and the stars, I thought for a bit about how enormous and wonderful God’s creation is. I’ve heard it said that if you ever start feeling a little full of yourself, take a trip to the Grand Canyon. The sheer enormity of it will sober you up real quick 🙂 I’ve never been to the Grand Canyon, but the ocean has a similar effect on me. I was thinking about how Jesus was there at the very beginning – “In the beginning was the Word” – created it all and then, in God’s perfect timing, sent His Son to us…

“But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons.” – Galatians 4:4-5 (ESV)

That’s what struck me as I listened to John’s gospel…and the Word became flesh ? And dwelt among us ? Wow.

Moments like that are what I cherish so much about the Bible. It’s inexhaustible. You can read a passage or listen to it over and over, but there are times when you are left in wonder and amazement as if you’ve read something for the first time. My friend Claire over at One Passion One Devotion also seems to have similar thoughts on John 1, and writes about it eloquently here.

There are many Christmas messages that focus on Matthew 1 or Luke 2, and those are all wonderful. But let’s stop and think for a bit this Christmas about John 1:14 – and be amazed all over again.

2 thoughts on “Wonder and Amazement

  1. Joe Post author

    It’s funny, I think I’ve listened to John 1:1-18 more than I’ve read it….so I can recite it when I’m listening to it, but not so much just from memory (unless I see the first word of the verse 🙂 ). It really helps to listen to the Bible when trying to memorize, so I’ve become a big fan of audio Bibles.

    I thought of you today by the way – I’m out in Denver for ALA and I brought with me a study guide on the book of James. I was wondering how you are doing with your own memorization.

    Either way, it’s just important to get more of the Bible into us whatever way works best 🙂

Leave a Reply

