Bubbling Over

“I will praise the LORD as long as I live; I will sing praises to my God while I have my being.” – Psalm 146:2 (ESV)

joy_ornament01

Last week I finished reading James Montgomery Boice’s book on Christmas called The King Has Come. Near the end of the book, Dr. Boice urges us at Christmas (and always) to be joyful in our salvation, and not just glad that we are spared from wrath. To illustrate this, Dr. Boice shared this short story (p. 141):

“The great missionary E. Stanley Jones used to tell of a man named Rufus Moseley, whom he called ‘the most bubbling Christian’ he ever knew. Someone once said of Moseley, ‘The first time I heard him I thought he was crazy. The second time I heard him I knew he was crazy.’ Moseley was so filled with joy that he just couldn’t keep quiet or settle down. Someone, who wanted to sober him up, once asked Moseley if he thought Jesus had ever laughed…

Moseley said, ‘I don’t know. But he fixed me up so I can laugh.’

Shouldn’t that be the testimony of all Christians ?”

Leave a Reply

