Missed Opportunities

But in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect…” – 1 Peter 3:15 (ESV)

I was leaving the Anaheim Convention Center this weekend and saw a group of guys standing just outside the center with what looked like Oakland Athletics t-shirts on, just like the one above. As I got closer though, I realized their shirts didn’t say “Athletics”. Instead it said “Atheists”.

As I walked past them, I started going through my jacket for a copy of John Piper’s “For Your Joy”, as I brought a bunch of copies out here with me. Then I realized I had left them back at the hotel. I then thought about starting a conversation to ask them about their shirts. But I was on my way to a conference session, so unfortunately I just kept walking, went past them, and didn’t say a word.

Missed opportunity.

This has really bothered me since it happened. A main reason why is that I’ve prayed for God to put opportunities in front of me to share my faith with others. So right on cue, God provided me a chance to do just that, and I did nothing.

What would you have done here ? How would you handle a similar situation the next time it’s presented ?

One thought on “Missed Opportunities

  1. Amy

    Hey, this is a good scenario. I think so often God puts people in our paths, sometimes we may talk to them, but more often than not we probably missed the opportunity.

    I’d like to think that I would talk to them, but knowing me the situation and circumstance would dictate whether I say anything or just keep walking by.

    don’t beat yourself up. keep praying for opportunities and next time step out and talk to the person. God hears our prayers and I doubt he would hold back when our prayers are asking for somehting that ultimately glorifies Him.

Leave a Reply

