Just One Verse

“If my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.” – 2 Chronicles 7:14 (ESV)

This week I’ve been camped out in 2nd Chronicles and reading again through the stories of the kings. The above verse is what God spoke to Solomon after he had completed building the temple. I’ve been going over this verse quite a bit the last few days and thinking about the four commands that God has given to Solomon (and us) here:

  • humble ourselves
  • pray
  • seek His face
  • turn from our wicked ways

In going through this long parade of mostly bad kings, I think of how different things would have been for Saul if he had kept these commands. Or Ahab. Or Jeroboam. Or {insert name}…

But now though, I’ve realized that I should instead turn this focus on myself. How much different would things be for me if I started each day with these commands in mind ? Staying humble, consistent in prayer, looking to God at the first sign of trouble, and doing a 180 when confronted with sinful behavior.

Just one verse, but a lot to think about…

2 thoughts on “Just One Verse

  1. Huh – I’m camped in 2nd Chronicles too. You know when I read those 4 commands I think of the growth group I’m just starting in and the 4 “concepts” (for lack of another word) that are vital to it: prayer, confess, read, solitude… they really seem to fit with this.

Leave a Reply

