Reflecting on Psalm 69

The Bible reading plan I’m following this year mixes in three Psalms periodically throughout the year, so you would just be reading them on 50 days of the year. I’ve found that I haven’t taken in as much from them this way, just reading three together and then moving on to the next Scripture reading in the plan. So I’m going to try to read one Psalm every morning from here on out. I think it will allow me to focus more and think more deeply about that Psalm’s message, without being put together with others in a bunch.

Anyway, on Saturday the next one up in my plan was Psalm 69. I’ve been thinking hard about verses 30-32, particularly verse 30. Here is the ESV version of these verses:

I will praise the name of God with a song; I will magnify him with thanksgiving.
This will please the LORD more than an ox or a bull with horns and hoofs.
When the humble see it they will be glad; you who seek God, let your hearts revive.”

I’ve also been reading through John Calvin’s commentary on this Psalm. This is part of his commentary on verse 30:

“God is here said to be magnified by our praises; not because any addition can be made to his dignity and glory, which are infinite, but because by our praises his name is exalted among men.”

What does “I will magnify him with thanksgiving” mean to you ? How do you see that playing out in your own life today, this week, this month, etc. ?

4 thoughts on “Reflecting on Psalm 69

  1. micey

    I believe by magnifying the Lord daily with thanksgiving, give Him the respect and fear He deserves. I would be nothing without Him, I would have nothing without Him, I would not exist without Him. He deserves all the glory and praise and thanks!!!

  2. Greg

    To “magnify” i.e. be seen as greater and more glorious. By taking time to intentionally pause and say “not I, but Christ,” shows the world that He is worthy of praise, not us for our talents, gifts and successes- they are from HIm anyway. Great post, Joe, thanks for helping me stop and give thanks myself.

  3. Anna

    Yes, making Him look the way He is to others… mighty and glorious. What a good psalm.

  4. rjs1

    C. H. Spurgeon:

    Verse 30. I will praise the name of God with a song. He who sang after the passover, sings yet more joyously after the resurrection and ascension. He is, in very truth, “the sweet singer of Israel.” He leads the eternal melodies, and all his saints join in chorus. And will magnify him with thanksgiving. How sure was our Redeemer of ultimate victory, since he vows a song even while yet in the furnace. In us, also, faith foresees the happy issue of all affliction, and makes us even now begin the music of gratitude which shall go on for ever increasing in volume, world without end. What clear shining after the rain we have in this and succeeding verses. The darkness is past, and the glory light shines forth as the sun. All the honour is rendered unto him to whom all the prayer was presented; he alone could deliver and did deliver, and, therefore, to him only be the praise.

Leave a Reply

