The Same Opening

What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works ?” – James 2:14 (ESV)

I’m not sure there’s another book in the Bible that causes us to look at the fruits of our faith like James. My plan this month has been to try to read through James every day, as I’ve done with other short NT books in January and February. Going through James this way has caused me to examine what my faith looks like on the outside, both to those who know me well and those who don’t.

Here’s an example: I remember a while back a co-worker asked me to recommend a computer to buy for home. I didn’t know this co-worker all that well, but spent quite a bit of time on a bunch of sites researching possible options. I sent an email to the co-worker all of the options I found and off they went. So I did my best to go above and beyond for someone I barely knew. But I think it was that same night I came home and my wife began to ask me a few computer questions. And I started to think to myself, with typical impatience, “Honey, I just don’t have time for this right now.

Can someone explain that to me ? Why do we at times treat those we love the most in such a careless way ? How does a helpful spirit turn impatient so quickly ? Or as James puts it, “Does a spring pour forth from the same opening both fresh and salt water ?” What good is all of my inward faith if it doesn’t produce a humble spirit that’s ready to serve others, and particularly those I love the most ?

Jesus, please help me to demonstrate my faith from the inside out.

One thought on “The Same Opening

  1. micey

    i actually have the same problem… i have so much compassion for strangers, but when it comes to my own children? it’s a conundrum… and i usually end up feeling quite terrible…

Leave a Reply

