Blessings For Today – 3/7/08

Daily Blessings is posting things she is thankful for every Friday and encouraging her readers to do the same. As she puts it, “We can all find reasons to highlight the negative as it happens every day, but God gives us so much to be thankful for if we only look for it.” She asked if I’d post mine, so here’s just a few I’ve been thinking about lately.

* Most importantly, as Paul wrote in his letter to the Ephesians, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places…” (1:3, ESV)

* After reading John Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life, I have a deeper gratitude for just the ability to get up and work every day. As Pastor John puts it, “One way to enjoy God’s presence and fellowship is through thankful awareness that your ability to do any work at all, including this work, is owing to his grace.”

* I’ve been blessed to “meet” some wonderful people online over the last few months. It’s amazing the ways that God puts others in our path to encourage us in our journey, even if we’re separated by many miles. A particular note of thanks to my blogger friends Amy, Micey, and Michele. Thank you sisters !

* And on a side note, I’m also thankful that my wife is patient with my attempts at cooking. We both love seafood and I tried to surprise her with a fish dinner last weekend (mahi mahi). I made a sauce with it that I found at a cooking site online. When Amy took a bite of it, she scrunched her face and said it “tasted like tobacco”. She was right. Oh well…maybe I’ll just stick with old reliable lemon, garlic and olive oil for the next fish dinner 🙂 By the way, after eight months I’ve finally gotten around to scanning some of our wedding photos and putting them up online. You can see them by clicking here or on the link to the right under “Photos”.

That’s my very abbreviated list of blessings for today 🙂

One response to “Blessings For Today – 3/7/08

  1. Ah what a blessing that you posted yours today. Thanks for looking to the good in your life. It looks like you have a LOT to be thankful for. I’m off to see your photos!

Leave a Reply

