A Concert of Prayer

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (ESV)

At the end of January, our church held a Concert of Prayer. I wasn’t able to attend, but the following Sunday our pastor remarked, to the 300 or so in attendance at the service, that about 30 or 40 people had attended the Concert of Prayer the previous Thursday and that it was a wonderful event.

“I guess the rest of you didn’t need to pray ?” he asked.

That question stuck with me the whole month of February. The church scheduled another event this past Thursday and this time I made sure I was there. I wasn’t sure what to expect going in. There were a few songs at the beginning, then a brief message from our pastor. At that point, we broke into pairs and prayed for each other’s needs. Then we got into groups of about four or five and prayed for the church, the surrounding region, and then world leaders and missionaries. The event closed with a few more songs of praise.

What a blessing it was to pray with others this way ! As I’ve mentioned several times here, I have really struggled with prayer as a new Christian. But being able to pray with and for others, instead of just my own concerns for a change, was so important. It was great to hear what was on other people’s hearts and to be able to join with them in bringing our requests to God. And it was also nice to meet a few new friends and bond with them in this way.

One thought on “A Concert of Prayer

  1. blessed1

    Wow…what an amazing experience. I may encourage my pastor with your post. I’m glad to have learned about this. Thank you! I hope you’ll join me this Friday by counting your blessings and linking back to my site. God bless…

Leave a Reply

