Am I Bringing Enough ?

So all the skilled craftsmen who were doing all the work on the sanctuary left their work and said to Moses, ‘The people are bringing more than enough for doing the work the LORD commanded to be done.’ ” – Exodus 36:4-5 (NIV)

Continuing along in the book of Exodus today during lunchtime, I stopped at the above verses. The tabernacle is now being built, after God has appointed Bezalel and Oholiab to do a lot of the skilled work here (engraving, cutting stones, embroidery, etc.). And now the Israelites are bringing their offerings to help in the construction. And they bring more offerings…and more offerings. Finally, Bezalel, Oholiab, and the other craftsmen basically tell Moses, “That’s it…we’ve got all we need !” Moses sent the word out to the people that their offerings could stop. There was enough material now to do the job and build the tabernacle.

What’s interesting is the note that these were “…freewill offerings every morning” (36:3, ESV). That verse made me stop and think. What am I giving freely to God each day ? Am I giving my time to those who need it ? Am I listening enough when I need to ? Am I giving my best at work ? Do I prayerfully study His Word each day the way I should, without just reading quickly through the passages in my reading plan ?

What are my “freewill offerings” ? Am I bringing enough ?

Leave a Reply

