Don’t Water It Down

And the gospel must first be proclaimed to all nations.” – Mark 13:10 (ESV)

On yesterday’s Renewing Your Mind broadcast, Dr. R.C. Sproul was telling the story of how he was first approached to write books for children. He explained that in writing his second book, the editors wanted to change a key term in the book. They wanted to remove the word “sin” and replace it with “making bad decisions“. Dr. Sproul then continued on about how political correctness is softening the message of the gospel.

Here’s Dr. Sproul:


“The gospel is only the gospel against the background of the law. The only reason the gospel comes to me as good news is because I’ve already heard the bad news ! And the bad news comes when I look at the living God, who is altogether holy. And I look at that mirror of the law, and I look at myself in that mirror and I cry out, like Isaiah, ‘Woe is me, for I am undone !’

But you see, you don’t understand grace until you understand justice. And you don’t understand grace until you understand sin. And you don’t understand grace until you understand holiness. And until you understand holiness, and justice, and righteousness – grace is cheap and the gospel is insignificant.”

Amen to that !

One response to “Don’t Water It Down

  1. amen and amen!

Leave a Reply

