New Year’s Books

librarybooks.jpg

My son, beware of anything beyond these. Of making many books there is no end, and much study is a weariness of the flesh.” – Ecclesiastes 12:12 (ESV)


The Teacher in Ecclesiastes (Solomon ?) warns us that too much study of books that focus on anything other than the wisdom of God is, well, meaningless. With that in mind, I’ve been gathering a list of books that I’d like to tackle in the new year. I definitely won’t get around to all of them, but if I get to half or even a third of this list, I’ll be happy. The Bible itself will still make up most of my reading. Anyway, most of these below are just titles that I’ve found by pastors that I like, or were recommended by them.

  • Respectable Sins: Confronting the Sins We Tolerate- by Jerry Bridges
  • The Reformation: How a Monk and a Mallet Changed the World – Stephen J. Nichols
  • Theology for Non-Theologians – James Cantelon
  • Culture Shift – Albert Mohler
  • Future Grace – John Piper
  • Don’t Waste Your Life – John Piper
  • Our Sufficiency In Christ – John MacArthur
  • The Supremacy of Christ in a Postmodern World – David F. Wells, D. A. Carson, Voddie T. Baucham Jr., and Mark Driscoll
  • Knowing God – J.I. Packer
  • The Christ – Carroll Roberson
  • Six Hours One Friday – Max Lucado
  • In Christ Alone: Reflections on the Heart of the Gospel – Sinclair Ferguson

Well, looking at the list, that does work out to about one a month. Hmmm… 🙂

A couple of these I don’t think have been released yet. If you have read any on this list, please let me know.

I’d also like it if you could comment and post your own reading list for the new year, and what you’re reading now.

Thanks !

One response to “New Year’s Books

  1. Good idea — I’m gonna post some books too!

    Thank you for your example of pursuing growth in sanctification.
    This is God’s grace at work in your life.

Leave a Reply

