Running The Race

Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us…” – Hebrews 12:1 (ESV)

Today I finished reading the book of Hebrews. The above verse (12:1) really spoke to me on a particular sin I’ve been dealing with for a while…impatience.

We always hear that “there are only so many hours in a day”. For some reason, that statement has really gotten to me lately. I feel a constant struggle to cram so much into my day…grad school, my job, catching up with friends and family, and also, being a newlywed. I’m in a race to finish this or that, but have trouble giving complete or full attention to any one thing. By the time the day is over and I’m ready for quiet time and Bible study, sometimes it’s very late. And if anything disrupts all of that multitasking, I get antsy and it affects everything else. The cycle can continue for days.

I finally think to myself, “I want to stop being impatient right now !”

I guess I’m also struggling with why the work I’ve been putting in to battle this sin doesn’t seem to be paying off just yet. And so there I am getting impatient again… 🙂

Anyway, I thought this verse – and that word “endurance” especially – was a great help to me today. The commentary on 12:1 in my NIV Study Bible notes that, “The Christian life is pictured as a long-distance race rather than a short sprint.” Now I realize this verse can mean several different things. I also know that being impatient at times is probably not going to be the biggest trial that God puts in front of me. But Hebrews 12:1 reminded me again that God’s timetable is much different from my selfish one. My “sprint” to overcome my sinful ways doesn’t match up with the marathon that He has called us to.

3 thoughts on “Running The Race

  1. David Gross

    I tend to get impatient at times as well. Sometimes I get so spiritually, emotionally and phisically worn that I just want to find a hole and hide, but it is scriptures like this and the grace of God that keeps me going.You are not alone. It’s just like that old country song “meet in the middle”. You start walking His way and He starts walking yours!God bless……

  2. ~M

    Being a Christian has a lot of “demands” on our time and money… the cost of discipleship. But, oh!, the rewards are endless. We get to spend eternity with Christ!

  3. Bill Cummings

    J-

    Along the journey toward patience… don’t be too hard on yourself! Impatience can be sin, but I don’t think it always is. On the flip-side your ability to multi-task can be seen as a gift (not everyone can do more than one thing at a time).

    Also, I have learned that the root of my impatience is sometimes a lack of peace… or restlessness over something I don’t like about myself or how life is going at the time. Sometimes I have to look below the surface to see where my “impatience” is coming from.

    Remember… God is patient with you!

    Bill

Leave a Reply

