Go To That Chariot

The Spirit told Philip, “Go to that chariot and stay near it.” – Acts 8:29 (NIV)

I’m now reading the book of Acts and have been reflecting over the last couple of days on the story of Philip and the Ethiopian eunuch. This eunuch was an official in his homeland and was actually on his way home from Jerusalem, after worshipping there for a while. He was sitting in his chariot and reading aloud from the book of Isaiah, the great Old Testament prophet.

I’ve been in similar situations over these last few months, reading passages from my Bible and struggling to figure out what was going on. I imagine the eunuch must have been reading from Isaiah over and over, trying to connect the dots and grab the full meaning of what the prophet was saying. It was then that Philip arrived on the scene.

Then Philip ran up to the chariot and heard the man reading Isaiah the prophet. “Do you understand what you are reading?” Philip asked.

“How can I,” he said, “unless someone explains it to me?” – Acts 8:30-31 (NIV)

I’ve been thinking about this meeting between these two men today. And what I realize is how fortunate I’ve been in my own journey – to have so many people explain what I’ve been reading to me. I have friends, pastors and other believers (some I only know online, but who I consider friends) who have all patiently listened to or gone over my questions and helped me immeasurably in my own understanding. So I know how the eunuch must have felt when Philip sat with him and explained the Gospel to him. After that, Philip baptized the eunuch. What a terrific story.

To all of you I’ve mentioned above, you’re a great inspiration. Keep on doing what you’re doing. Go to that chariot, and stay near it, as Philip did. You never know what eternal effect you may have on someone else !

When they came up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord suddenly took Philip away, and the eunuch did not see him again, but went on his way rejoicing.” – Acts 8:39 (NIV)

One thought on “Go To That Chariot

  1. Bill Cummings

    J-

    Thanks for the encouragement! We are definitely due for one of those late night conversations… I am excited to hear more about your journey through the Gospels. You are now reading my favorite book of the Bible – Acts. What a powerful record of what the early followers of Jesus did with the Gospel after Jesus was no longer with them in the flesh!!

    I like to think of it like we are now living in Acts… Chapter 29.

    Let’s talk soon…

    Bill

Leave a Reply

