One Golden Day

The LORD is my strength and my shield;
my heart trusts in him, and I am helped.
My heart leaps for joy
and I will give thanks to him in song.”
– Psalm 28:7 (NIV)

I think I mentioned in an earlier post that I have a pretty substantial commute in the morning. I work about 25 miles from home, but the ride in can take well over an hour on some days. What’s been a great blessing for me on these work mornings is my iPod Shuffle. I have a standard group of podcasts and pastors that I listen to regularly – Greg Laurie, Dr. James Merritt, The Daily Audio Bible, Back To The Bible, and others. But today I came across another one that some of you may be familiar with. It’s called “Pray-as-you-go” and it consists of some music, a scripture reading, and questions for reflection. It lasts about 10 minutes or so. The reason why this struck me today was the music they played. It was a song titled “Golden Day” by Karen Money. I had never heard of her until today, but wow…what a voice ! The only other time I can remember stopping in my tracks when I heard someone sing for the first time was about four years ago, when I first heard Alison Krauss.

If you’re interested, you can check out Karen Money’s website here and listen to some of her music, including “Golden Day”. Her other songs are also terrific. I have to say I haven’t listened to much Christian music yet, but hearing Karen Money sing will be motivation for me to get out there and find others to listen to….

…or maybe you can help me find them 🙂 Who are some of your favorite Christian artists and musicians ?

p.s. …and thank you to Kirsten over at Now or Never for the “Pray-as-you-go” link…

2 thoughts on “One Golden Day

  1. Chris

    I like to listen to the local christian rock station … stuff like the David Crowder Band, Barlow Girl, Big Daddy Weave, Casting Crowns, Chris Tomlin, etc., but what I really have enjoyed listening to is the music from churches I have been to that I’ve really connected with (that’s two).

    The personal connection with those playing the music is really the difference for me. Unfortunately, they usually really split out the music from the sermon CDs as tracks, so I have had to do it myself. The good thing is that the church we now attend just so happens it seems to split the songs out by track 🙂 Now I just need to get more of the sermon CDs….

  2. Pingback: Listen Up - 6/29/08 « Good News

Leave a Reply

