Sharing Your Interests

Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.” – Philippians 2:4 (NIV)

I recently finished reading a book on marriage titled “Love That Lasts: When Marriage Meets Grace” by Gary and Betsy Ricucci. I found this book through Michelle and her blog over at I’m A Teacup, NOT A Sledgehammer. You should really check out Michele’s blog when you have a chance. I’ve learned so much from what she writes. She really posts some great insights, and her blog is always enjoyable to read. I probably would not have found this book without her reviews of it, so thank you Michele !

I’ll probably write more about the book overall, but there was one example that the Ricuccis gave that I wanted to share. Betsy discusses how when they were first married, she didn’t know all that much about military aviation, but that it was a passion of Gary’s. She tagged along as he went to shows and tours and demonstrated “polite interest”, as she called it. But over the years, she grew to really enjoy this interest of Gary’s and as a result, their friendship within the marriage grew.

Well it’s now the end of August. And that means that lately my wife has heard from me three words that she probably dreads this time of year – it’s football season ! No, Amy is not the biggest football fanatic in the world. But having said that, one of the things I greatly admire about her is how she has always tried to share my interest with me. She knows that my weekends in the fall usually involve watching or going to college and NFL games. Within reason, she likes to come along whenever she can. And she even said yes when I asked if we could be introduced to the U.S.C. fight song at our wedding ! So for a wedding gift, she decided to get us tickets to the Jets-Giants preseason game this past Saturday. She even contacted one of her friends to find out what seats were good ones to get. So we wound up on the 50-yard line on a nice summer night watching football. That’s my idea of an enjoyable evening, but I doubt it’s hers. Still, she knew it was something that I enjoyed and she wound up having fun people-watching and just being out and about. And we were together, which was the most important thing of all.

The example that the Ricuccis gave really made an impact on me, and this verse from Philippians illustrated it well. I’m really so blessed to have someone who shares these interests with me and places my enjoyment ahead of her own so often. One of the many reasons I love her. So thank you sweetheart 🙂

3 responses to “Sharing Your Interests

  1. Thanks for the encouragement!

    And how great that your wife blessed you with the tickets.

    Glad you licked the book too!

  2. How about “Liked” instead of “Licked.”

    I hope you didn’t “lick” it, lol.

  3. Bill Cummings

    J-

    Great thoughts on the importance of putting others first! What a challenge that can be sometimes!!

    I am going to encouarge Cherie to read this in hopes that she will buy us tickets to the Sabres vs. Hurricaes game in Oct.

    -Bill

Leave a Reply

