An Example From Solomon

As someone who is early on in my walk with Christ, I’ve been struggling with prayer, and how to properly speak to God each day. In the morning, I start by praising Him and thanking Him for the new day. I also ask Jesus to just walk me through the day and for the Holy Spirit to guide me. At night, I thank Him for keeping my wife and me well during the day, and to watch over my family and friends. But I’m conflicted with what’s proper and improper to ask Him for, and to not be tempted to ask for things relating to my job, financial situation, home, etc.

A few days ago, I finished reading 1st Kings. I was struck by Solomon’s request while speaking to God in a dream after succeeding his father, David, as king…

Here I am among the people you have chosen to be your own, a people who are so many that they cannot be counted. So give me the wisdom I need to rule your people with justice and to know the difference between good and evil. Otherwise, how would I ever be able to rule this great people of yours?” – 1 Kings 3:8-9 (GNT)

What an example from Solomon ! And God was pleased with his request, as Solomon had not asked for money or a long life or victory over his enemies. Solomon simply asked for the Lord’s guidance in leading His people, and He granted Solomon all he could ever wish for in terms of wealth, wisdom and a long life.

Unfortunately Solomon lost his way later on in life. But his example while speaking to God in that dream is a great lesson. If we ask for God’s guidance and wisdom – ahead of our own self-centered requests – we can’t go wrong.

2 responses to “An Example From Solomon

  1. Congratulations on your new relationship with Jesus! Welcome to the family!

    Isn’t Solomon’s request humbling? We all ask for so many things in our prayers, and he wanted wisdom.

    One of my favorite places in the Bible on Wisdom is the second chapter of Proverbs. I highly suggest it. Solomon wrote it, too.

    God Bless,

    Amy Letinsky

    http://amyletinsky.wordpress.com

  2. I’m further in my Christian walk, and yet I can never get enough encouragement to pray! Recently I was blessed by J.C. Ryle’s A CALL TO PRAYER. I really enjoyed your sharing! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

